Uncategorized

Army life, the holidays, and my amazing husband <3

This may seem a bit sad girl at first, but bear with me here. As the holidays approach, I become more and more aware that this will be my first holiday away from my family. It’s a thought that I’ve suppressed for a while but as the trees and decorations go up at the stores, my mood and love for the season decreases.

The holiday season has always been my favorite time of year. Everyone is always in such great spirits. Amazing food and scents, and all the family you could think of. When I was younger, I did love getting presents. What kid doesn’t?! But I loved getting to spend time with all of the family I wouldn’t normally see. Now that I’m older, I look back and I don’t remember what all Santa brought me. But I remember every Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner, every Dance Dance Revolution battle, my favorite Christmas movies, and every Twas the Night Before Christmas.

As much as I would love to go back to those times, I can’t. I’m married now and I have a husband who I’m supposed to make new memories with. Someone who I will get to have Turkey dinner with, and open gifts, and read holiday stories to our children one day. And these new memories will hold just as much importance as the old ones do.

Last night, my homesickness finally got the best of me. And the amazing man who I get to call my husband was right there, telling me all these things. I’ve realized that he’s right about it all too. This isn’t going to last forever. And someday when we’re settled back home, it’ll be our turn to hold these holidays at our home.

I am looking forward to this holiday season. Especially because I have an incredible man to make new memories with. ❤

Leave a Reply

