Uncategorized

8 Reasons You Shouldn’t Quit Your New Years resolutions.

20140116-004745.jpg

How many of you were so excited for your New Years resolutions?

Now how many of you have kept and stuck with those resolutions?

More specifically, who is still going to the gym?

Although some people may have stopped going because they weren’t into it, the gym was too busy, or it was just inconvenient to go. But how many people gave up because they weren’t seeing results? Because they had unrealistic goals, crazy diets, and just didn’t see the scale changing?

Giving up was where you went wrong. But it doesn’t mean you can’t get back up and try again during 2014. Who made up the saying “New Years Resolution?” You don’t need a new year to start over. Just a new day, hour, minute…

It’s rather obvious that you won’t see results after going to the gym just once or twice. But so many of us have this strange idea in our head that we will. Yes, you may start to feel better, maybe sleep better too,
but realistically you won’t see anything that quickly.

Throw in a crash diet and low self esteem, and you have the perfect recipe for failure.

Unless you are the small percentage of people who have given up on “dieting” and killing yourself every day at the gym. These people have figured out the secret to success when it comes to weight loss/toning.

Weight loss takes time and a whole butt load of patience.

Well duh, right?

But I can guarantee that a lot of people who read this have been discouraged countless times when you aren’t seeing the toned calves or the scale dropping after a few weeks.

I was one of those people. I started Insanity and Jillian Michaels workouts, and went for long runs so many times. Want to know what happened?

* I’ve never made it through the entire 60 days of Insanity, even though I’ve owned it since summer of 2011.

* I quit Jillian because I only saw results in my mid section and was not completing significant cardio.

* I quit running because I pushed myself way too hard and got hurt.

I finally decided to go to my apartments gym, which doesn’t have much mind you, but would give me a better workout. I had read all this stuff about how lifting is so great for you and lifting before cardio helps burn more calories. So I tried it. And I decided to eat healthier (more veggies, fruit, protein) and not diet!

I stopped getting on the scale and weighing myself all the time. Naturally, a woman’s body weight fluctuates through the week anyways, so it isn’t good to weigh yourself daily I learned.

And finally, I decided that this was going to be a slow process, but I had to remain committed to going and set achievable goals for myself.

So what benefits does making weight loss a slow and steady process have?

1. Helps you set realistic goals, and stick to them! I find myself looking towards the biggest goal, focusing on simply being healthier physically all around. Stop stressing about losing X amount of pounds by summer. Get toned and look sexy! (Muscle weighs more than fat anyways :P)

2. No crazy dieting or calorie counting. Don’t starve yourself! Eat what you want, but make smarter choices, have smaller portions, and eat slower. Don’t worry about eating that hamburger or drinking that extra cocktail. Moderation not deprivation!

3. Becoming in tune with your body. You start to learn your limits, strengths and weaknesses. But you see the changes as you go when you can stretch farther, run farther, or lift the heavier weight.

4. Lessen the chance of injury. You listen to your body and know when to take a break. You don’t stress about having to go to the gm after a long, crappy work day when you want to go to bed.

5. You can use it as an outlet. Had a bad day? Need to blow off some steam? Push all of the negative pent up energy into a workout.

6. You get excited to workout! This should be number one on this list actually. You start to feel better overall, so you look forward to those workouts. You know you’ll feel awesome afterwards.

7. Boosts your self esteem. Seeing the little changes when you aren’t focusing on losing this, toning that, fixing this, etc. gets exciting! Seeing muscle definition you’ve never had before, looking great in those jeans that never really for quite right….whatever it may be, it makes you FEEL good!

8. You don’t quit. I don’t know of any research on this, but personally, I feel less inclined to go back to my couch potato self and more excited to better myself.

Some person way back in the olden days said “Slow and steady wins the race.” That man/person/being was an absolute genius.

Slow down.

Eat better. (But don’t kill yourself DIEting!)

And be healthy and happy!

So get up and get back to bettering yourself, on your terms, with no hurry. It’s your body and only you know what it can take. Be kind to it, and it will be kind to you. Your resolution may take a smidge longer than planned, but you’ll feel much better and more accomplished once you get there.

Xoxo.

1 thought on “8 Reasons You Shouldn’t Quit Your New Years resolutions.”

Leave a Reply

