Food, Health & Fitness, Life, Personal, Thoughts, Uncategorized

Meal Prep!ย 

๐Ÿ…๐Ÿ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ๐ŸŒฝ๐Ÿ—

This week I decided to try some new recipes and combinations for meals. I’ve officially fallen into a rut and plateau with my food and weight loss, so it was definitely time to change it up! While I will ALWAYS be a lover of smoothies, I firmly believe that your body gets used to any kind of routine you put it on, to include what you put in to it! 

First on the menu was breakfast! I haven’t been a big fan of cereal for a few years now, so that was out. Also, processed breakfast bars or anything from the freezer just screamed unhealthy to me. (Unhealthy things hide in everything! Choose wisely! ๐Ÿ˜‰) I also am not too fond of traditional eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. Yuck! 

So what was left?! 

I decided to suck it up on one of my dislikes. I chose egg whites. Not only are they an amazing source of protein, they are filling and very versatile too! I grabbed a recipe off of Pinterest and decided to give it some flair! 

  
Egg muffins! 

So for this recipe, I used the following:

๐Ÿ”บLiquid egg whites

๐Ÿ”บFresh spinach

๐Ÿ”บGrape tomatoes

๐Ÿ”บRed bell pepper

๐Ÿ”บGreen onion

๐Ÿ”บSeasonings!!!

After spraying my muffin tin with non-stick spray, I put in the spinach, bell pepper, tomatoes and onions. I then added a little under 1/3 cup of egg whites. (That’s what fit in each cup.) Then I mixed in some salt and pepper, popped in the over for 20 minutes at 375 and voila! My husband was so excited that he tried one right out of the oven! We stored them in zip loc bags and pop them in the microwave for a quick, healthy breakfast! Perfect for people like me who like a little extra sleep in the morning ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

Next on the agenda was lunch. Salads get boring FAST! So those were out. And too much chicken is overkill. I was also eating my carbs only at dinner (yikes!). So I decided on a wee bit of chicken, brown rice, quinoa and veggies! Mm mmm! 

  
Super yummy! Packed with protein and healthy carbs! And I can add a little hot sauce, jalapeรฑos or extra seasonings to keep it from getting boring. 

I prepped my breakfast muffins and my lunches on the same day, and it took roughly 2 1/2 hours. Mind you, I didn’t do my typical multi task, so I could’ve been done quicker. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But it makes the work week sooo much easier because I’m not staying up late doing it, I get to sleep in a little extra in the mornings, and I get more time to myself! 

I can guarantee that if you take the time to invest in your health by prepping your meals, you will stay more on track, feel better, and start seeing the results you want. It’s not about “dieting.” It’s a healthy choice to live a healthier, happier lifestyle. Start small and put on some music, and have some fun! Even if you just have an hour on a Sunday, that’s an hour you’ll gain during the week. Can’t beat that. ๐Ÿ˜
Coming soon: Turkey “taco” boats! Hopefully tomorrow! ๐Ÿ˜œ
Xoxo. 

Leave a Reply

